How to Upgrade WonderPlugin Free or Lite Version to the Commercial Version Without Losing Existing Work

After you decide to upgrade to commercial version and have made the payment, your membership account will be automatically created and your login information will be sent to your email address in minutes.

You can then log in the Membership Area and download the commercial version.

There are two methods to upgrade the free or lite version to its commercial version.

The First Method:

To upgrade to the commercial or new version without losing your existing work, you can take the following steps:

  1. In your WordPress backend, goto the plugin menu Settings, make sure there is an option "Keep data when deleting the plugin" and the option is checked. The option is checked by default. This option is only available after certain versions. Do not use this method if there is not this option in your plugin. Please use the following second method instead.
  2. In your WordPress backend, goto the menu Plugins -> Installed Plugins, deactivate the plugin and delete it. When deleting the plugin, ignore the warning "Are you sure you wish to delete these files and data" and click the button "Yes, Delete these files and data". This is a standard warning from WordPress.
  3. Install the commercial version plugin zip file and activate it.
  4. Clear all possible caches:

    • If you have installed a WordPress js/css minify plugin or WordPress cache plugin for example, W3 Total Cache or WP Super Cache, empty all caches from the plugin.
    • Some of the web hosts, for example, GoDaddy, DreamHost, will also cache web files. You need to clear caches of the web hosting before testing. Please contact your web hosting provider and ask about how to clear caches.
    • Clear caches of your web browser before testing.

The Second Method:

If the first method does not work for you, you can use the following method:

  1. Unzip the commercial version .zip file at local hard disk.
  2. FTP/upload the unzipped folder to your WordPress web server, inside the folder wp-content/plugins/, and overwrite the existing folder with the same name. Please make sure you have overwritten the existing folder. When there is a folder name conflict, some ftp software or file manager will create a duplicated folder rather than overwriting the existing one. In this case, you can delete the existing folder first then upload the commercial version folder.
  3. Clear all possible caches:

    • If you have installed a WordPress js/css minify plugin or WordPress cache plugin for example, W3 Total Cache or WP Super Cache, empty all caches from the plugin.
    • Some of the web hosts, for example, GoDaddy, DreamHost, will also cache web files. You need to clear caches of the web hosting before testing. Please contact your web hosting provider and ask about how to clear caches.
    • Clear caches of your web browser before testing.